Newly licensed in Phoenix, how do I get started as a captive agent for a major carrier?

Jorge Pascal

So great to find this forum!

I am a newly licensed agent in Phoenix, Arizona, who wants to get started in Medicare Sales as soon as possible. (preferably before or during open enrollment).

Ideally, I would like to start as a captive agent for a carrier so I can receive training and understand the industry; however, so far, I have not received any response from the major carriers (United Healthcare, Humana, BCBS) from their recruitment website. My biggest challenge is getting started.

I already have my license, and I am currently getting my AHIP certification. I am bilingual in Spanish and have 20+ experience in bilateral trade, project management, and sales and marketing.
  • What other requirements do I need to get recruited by a primary carrier as a captive agent?
  • If I cannot become a captive agent, how can I get training to become an independent agent?
Thank you for your advice.

-Jorge

So great to find this forum!

I am a newly licensed agent in Phoenix, Arizona, who wants to get started in Medicare Sales as soon as possible. (preferably before or during open enrollment).

Ideally, I would like to start as a captive agent for a carrier so I can receive training and understand the industry; however, so far, I have not received any response from the major carriers (United Healthcare, Humana, BCBS) from their recruitment website. My biggest challenge is getting started.

I already have my license, and I am currently getting my AHIP certification. I am bilingual in Spanish and have 20+ experience in bilateral trade, project management, and sales and marketing.
  • What other requirements do I need to get recruited by a primary carrier as a captive agent?
  • If I cannot become a captive agent, how can I get training to become an independent agent?
Thank you for your advice.

-Jorge