Owner Occupier- Do I need 2 insurance policies?

Jane Osbourne

Hi

I own my property which I run my cafe out of. This is my first time owning a business within my own property.

What I’m trying to understand is do I need 2 insurance policies? 1 for the building/property and 1 for the business?

It seems like I’m paying for 2 things which sort of cover each other and has doubled my total insurance costs.

Thanks in advance for your help.
Jane

The building should only be covered once whether it's a stand alone policy or part of a package. If you have a multi-unit building and your business rents out one of those units your business policy would only need to cover liability and business property. Your separate building policy would cover the building. I would talk to your agent about your exact situation and they might be able to package it all together. Whether it's that much cheaper I don't know.

I have a lot of clients with situations like yours. You should talk to your agent, and if he/she is even half competent, you'll have your answer.

I have got an agent but I still wonder if they advise I need 2 policies simply to get more premiums.

If you don't trust your agent, then you probably need a new agent.

Writing two policies may be more premium, but is also double the work.

Depending on the details, if the building and the cafe are owned by the same legal entity, no, you don't need separate policies for any reason I can think of.

If the building and cafe are owned by separate entities, or their are other tenants, then yes you may need separate policies.

Either way, if you don't trust your agent enough to believe them, you need a new agent. I would never work with someone where I thought I needed to double check their work on an anonymous internet forum.

Thanks for the replies.