Shopping for new insurance

RCMJR

Hi,

I have a few different general questions.

1) State Farm currently handles my life, home, and auto insurance. I don't care for my particular agent and plan to look for someone else. Assuming I get the exact same coverage for auto, will my costs be the exact same with a different agent and the same company?
2) If I move my home & auto to a new agent, is it possible for my current agent to get p***ed and say she doesn't want to handle my life insurance anymore? I've had the policy with SF for a number of years and if I tried to get new insurance the cost would clearly increase simply because I'm older now. Or, would I move that policy to the new agent as well?
3) I've been driving for 30+ years and I've never had an accident of any kind. Am I right in thinking that SF would look at this when/should I get into an accident and keep it in mind when thinking about raising my rates as a result of the accident? I have no loyalty to SF and wonder if I should shop around but then I wouldn't have any history with the new company.

I hope these questions make sense.

Thanks.

Chip

Have you asked these questions of a different State Farm agent yet? What did they say?
You may be able to just transfer your SF policy to a new agent. A lot of insurers allow for this.

In regards to point 2 - if you are speaking of a life insurance contract, what could she possibly do to you once its in force? What are your concerns with it?

marindependent,

I haven't spoken to any new agents yet. I was asking here first so I'd have some idea of what to expect. I didn't know if it was as simple as transferring policies.