What Should I Expect

insurancedude123

I wanted to seek the advice of more seasoned insurance agents on this fourm on a new job oppurtunity for me...

I have been a producer for a mom and pop agency making just comission for about 5 years. Needless to say I have had some success, and started testing the waters with other agencies..just to see what was out there.

I got a call from a very Large broker the other day interested in talking to me. The position I applied for is an Account Executive.

Now the interview is in a couple days, and I have no idea how to handle the question of salary.

Do most large brokerage firms offer a salary??

Is it just comission plus a bonus if you hit sales marks?

To be honest. I dont know what to ask for. I def. dont want to undercut myself and ask for a certain amount, but then again I dont want to ask for to much.

How is pay normally handled at Larger Brokers/Agenices?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

I would listen more, speak less.

Ask what the job entails and what is expected of you. Ask them what they are offering in compensation.

They are going to be feeling you out as well.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
which is a fancy word for insurance salesman......

I like "Special Agent" Then every one would know that I am special.

Last edited:
I would listen more, speak less.

Ask what the job entails and what is expected of you. Ask them what they are offering in compensation.

They are going to be feeling you out as well.......

Exactly! Who ever names the first prices loses. Let him offer and then get back to him with either your acceptance, counter proposal, or rejection. Once you know what is offered run it by on here.