Why are there so many rules to Medicare Advantage??

I understand the company line of wanting to "protect" seniors, but I just feel like all 1,000,000,003 rules just aren't necessary. It almost feels like CMS and the insurance companies are putting all these provisions in to be able to say "gotcha!!," one day, and not pay the agents.

Also, not being able to get paid for any previous business, if you fail the AHIP test, is kind of ridiculous. But, I'm a newer agent. What do I know? lol. Just wondered if the vets have any opinions or thoughts on the matter. It all just seems ridiculous.

You basically can't even have a conversation with someone on Medicare without feeling like you're violating one of the rules.

Leave it to the government to further complicate a complicated process they created.

In Washington, I believe it is called "Tuesday".

I'm from the government and I am here to help you. - Ronald Reagan

While it is true that DC makes things more complicated and expensive than it needs to be. It is also true the MA marketing rules, apply to agents but not carriers or CMS. And much that comes out of DC is created, overseen, administered and regulated by the Redundancy Department of Redundancy.

But you need to understand this.

When MA plans first hit the scene it was a wild west show. Almost anything goes.

Agents created this mess that caused the govt to step in and over-regulate a product and market. When that happened almost everyone lost. The agents who abused the system are now back to selling snake oil and the good agents that are left are still making a living.

Last edited:
I understand the company line of wanting to "protect" seniors, but I just feel like all 1,000,000,003 rules just aren't necessary. It almost feels like CMS and the insurance companies are putting all these provisions in to be able to say "gotcha!!," one day, and not pay the agents.