Worst Advice you ever got in Insurance Industry?

Regardless of my answer it will be scrutinized by someone. In the same sense I could ask everyone here how much they produced and I am sure many would not be telling the truth. The best answer for what agents or brokers produce can be found in the Bureau of Labor Statistics.

Off topic but I don't think the Bureau of Labor Statistics contemplates independent agents. Within my geographic demographic it shows there are 2,510 Insurance Sales Agents with an annual mean wage of $87,300. Some states are over 100k, and I don't think they're including all the high earning Independents, just the captives.

To clarify. I do not get a salary. I get 14% of the sales through the leads. I'm a licensed broker that prefers to do the marketing I also help close the sales of they want my help. I have 25 + years of outside sales. I love this business model. When a broker has to market, cold call, and buy leads less time is spent with clients. I wouldn't do it any other way.
In other words the agents are paying 14% of their sales for the leads/appointments because if you were not receiving the 14% it could go to the agent. That is no different than the independent agents who buy leads from a lead vendor and then pay a person to call the leads and set appointments. To say the agents in your unit do not pay for leads is disingenuous.

What you say you don’t care for about this forum is what keeps it real. This forum is known to not allow people to come on a give bull sheet advice that they “think” might work as real tried and true and proven methods of successfully selling insurance. This is not Facebook where everyone is fake it till you make it but hardly anyone makes it.