Am I Getting Screwed Here with Allstate? Is this Job Worth It?

skaflone721

Hey everyone, I'm new here and I was worried about a job offering I got. I know very little about insurance and I am in a very bad position right now in terms of getting a job.

Here's the deal.

I have a BS in Economics and I've been looking for jobs for over a year with no luck. I have very little experience and that's really hurting me. I am located in NYC.

There's a guy who recently got a book or whatever with Allstate and is looking for new people. He's ready to hire me. He'll be paying for the classes to get my licenses over 3 week period plus for the exam as well.

During the interview he discussed the pay structure. Basically he is going to pay me $300 a week for 6 months as I get started and then it will be all commission based moving forward with no base salary. We get 10% on every auto insurance I sell, where I get 5% and he gets 5%.

Does this look good? Or am I getting lowballed? What usually happens if you can't sell much aside from getting fired? Will he ask me to pay for the classes I am taking? I'm kind of desperate at the moment, and I really need money and nothing else seems to be coming up right now.

Is it a good idea to go through with this? I already said yes.

He is offering you a 50/50 split on new business what about on renewals ? You will need to ask about renewasls.

50/50 split is not bad for someone with no experience especailly since he is offering you training and a salary to start out.

Might want to check how Allstate preforms in NYC first as well.

Are they still doing that "whoople" training thing? What a complete joke that was.