Commission Payments vs Cash Flow

KFM7

I am a new independent agent and new to this forum (which has been an excellent resource for someone new).

I am setting up a new agency and putting together a business plan for it. I have a couple of questions:

1) What is the cash flow of commissions paid on new premiums that are paid monthly or paid in full upfront. ie. if the client pays monthly, is the commission paid monthly pro-rata to the number of months on the policy (6 or 12mo)?
If paid in full, what does the cash flow look like?

2) Roughly what percentage of customer chose to pay monthly vs pay in full upfront?

Thank you.

If you are truly new please let me share some advice which I have seen ruin new agents. Most customers do not pay in full but most companies will pay you an advance based upon future paid premiums. If you submit an application for 100 premium per month you will receive a commission based on a 1200 yearly premium. Charge backs are hell! Your "best" customer has 30 days after receiving the policy to accept it and some don't. Some realize they forgot to plan for the premium outlay. When you can afford to...take your commissions "as paid" until you have a good income rolling in from renewals and premium payments
That $10,000 commission advance looks great but your pockets won't suffer the $10,000 chargeback refund when the policy is declined or lapses

For auto and renters, most people will pay monthly, although there are still some that pay in full. For home, most will be paid in full as most homes have a mortgage with the insurance in escrow. There are always exceptions, but this is the general rule now days.

Most companies will advance you the full policy commission, yearly for home and renters, for auto 6 months or 12 months depending upon carrier and policy length. If the policy lapses or is cancelled for any reason, they will charge back the unearned portion.