Indy from Home?

hello..

Expert
Hello everyone!

I am relatively new to the P&C business and wanted to see if this is possible. Would it be possible to get appointed with some standard companies like prog or geiko without having an official office?

The plan is:

1- write business in a book while working my normal job.

2- a couple years down the road, apply for a business loan to purchase another book and open an office.

Is this something that is possible?

Well if you are going to do P&C as a hobby or not full time I think it will not work. It needs to be a full time job. It's very hard work, sales, service, marketing. I would wait till you can do it % 100.

Hello everyone!

I am relatively new to the P&C business and wanted to see if this is possible. Would it be possible to get appointed with some standard companies like prog or geiko without having an official office?

The plan is:

2- a couple years down the road, apply for a business loan to purchase another book and open an office.

Times have changed, you can probably pull this off if you get some sort of virual office, these are ussually offered by executive suite services. Also it makes sense to do this if you are running a commerical agency, if you are running a personal lines agency, it may not make the best sense, unless you are dealing with high networth clients as these clients rarely come to an office. As far as your 2nd question goes, buying a book or an agency is not easy, there is a lot of competition, you really need to focus on growing your business.

Having said that, you also say you are new to the P&C business. While starting out with a direct writer agency like Farmers may make sense to you, starting an independent agency is not for someone who doesn't have experience is a failure waiting to happen. Get yourself some experience, you really need to know what you are doing or you will drown.