Is Joining a Cluster Really my Best Option?

Pacman2012

Expert
I'm looking to go independent in the near future and doing my research. I've been a top captive agent for AAA for a short time and a top producer st state farm for 3 years before I turned down theiragency offer . I eventually want to go independent and I'm not sure if my captive track record will get me direct appointments immediately but I have experience writing a business plan (state farm) and I have proof of my p&c sales numbers. If I can't get a direct appointment from a preferred carrier I'd prefer to go substandard, build a book and then get the appointments. Is there anything wrong with my logic? I was offered to work as a producer for a broker I know but I feel that'd be a waste of time as I've already been a producer and want to move forward not sideways. Any advice or sub standard carriers I could get appointments through in north Texas? Thank you very much

It all depends on the cluster and the contract you make with them. Shop around for the right cluster that fits your needs.
With your experience however, I can't imagine anyone turning you down if you decide to go directly.

It all depends on the cluster and the contract you make with them. Shop around for the right cluster that fits your needs.
With your experience however, I can't imagine anyone turning you down if you decide to go directly.

I thought they might and i have figures to back everything. Do you know of some of the companies I could go to? I just don't like the idea of coming out of pocket 10-20k and then giving someone a cut of my commissions for the privilege of writing business.

There are plenty of Clusters that you could choose from. Some are more local, others National. With that being said, you may want to do a simple Google search to see what is available in your area.