Liberty Mutual or Farm Bureau

chastain77

Expert
I'm new to the industry and have no prior insurance experience. I was just curious if anyone has any past experience with either company as an agent and if so pro's and con's on each. thanks for the help

I will say that I recently turned down an offer with Liberty Mutual because of my interview with them. Although they offered a guaranteed salary, it sounded like they are looking for people they can control and I could just picture being hounded everyday about production. I also asked about benefits and vacation time and was told that they don't recommend that you take vacation your first few years, even though you accumulate vacation from day one. Their 401K match sounded great though.

I will also say that Liberty Mutual didn't work for me because I have spent the last 20 years living a life of 60-70 hours a week in car sales and management and I really want to have more control of my life than I have now and it sounded like Liberty Mutual would not have been a wise choice for me.

I have decided to go independent because of my sales experience and work ethic and I know that I don't need to be pushed everyday to get up and go to work.

To the original poster. If you work for someone, a company, you are going to be asked about production on a daily basis. You will be required as a new agent to produce a certain amount and if you cant, you have about 30 days to do it.

Take Farm Bureau for example.

The First month, you have to prouduce nothing. Get in and settled. Month 2 you better be clicking off some life aps. 3 per month with a minimum of $1000 premium and 8 P&C applications as well. If you do this, you will stay validated.

All of these requirements get tougher on month 13. Except the ap count requirements, they stay the same. But the premiums req's goes up.

If you fall off of validation, you have about 30 days. If you cant get back on, go ahead and throw in the towel.