Medigap Supplement Plan G Pricing - Humana (Attained Age) vs UHC AARP (Community-Rated)

cai24

Expert
In my area, it seems that Humana has had the cheapest initial premium for Plan G. I noticed recently that UHC is actually a few dollars less now. I'm not certain if I should be using them more or not. I want whatever is best for my clients. My understanding is that Humana is Attained Age, and UHC is Community-Rated. I don't have a grasp for which plan would have lower increases moving forward, or if there is a way to see the historical increases. I know that the UHC discount gradually reduces each year, whereas the Humana premium gradually increases. Is there a good way to assess the two, aside from the different initial premiums. I apologize for the question...I am a newer producer, so I'm trying to learn as much as possible.

Humana is Attained Age, and UHC is Community-Rated.

True community rated plans charge the same rate for the same plan . . . regardless of age, gender or zip code.

AFAIK there is only one community rated carrier in Georgia (where I am). They hit the market with a splash about half a dozen years ago. Cleaned everyone's clock on T65 rates for plan F . . . also a fantastic deal at age 90 that would pay the same rate as someone 65. A few years ago they introduced the G plan and rates were HIGHER than F plans.

They obviously had no clue what they are doing.

I never hear about them any more. A few years of rate increases and they are overpriced for anyone under age 75 or so but still killing it on age 80 and up . . . if you can pass underwriting.

They are a direct writer so no agent involvement.

see the historical increases.

Historical rate increases are meaningless . . . especially with carriers that rotate in and out of the state on a cycle.