My auto insurance is going to lapse for 4 days

Sep 8, 2018

  1. PookieNumNums
    Offline

    PookieNumNums New Member

    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    State:
    Michigan
    I can't pay my policy for 4 days. I have progressive and live in Michigan. I will get the same policy next Wednesday. Is 4 days going to get me in trouble with the DMV/state ?
     
  2. adjusterjack
    Offline

    adjusterjack Guru

    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    292
    State:
    Arizona
    At worst it'll mean registration and license suspension but you aren't likely going to know about it until you get pulled over for something.

    If you can't pay for your insurance and it lapses I suggest you park your car and take your license plates to the DMV and turn them in temporarily until your insurance is active again.

    Do not drive without insurance.
     
  3. djs
    Offline

    djs Super Moderator Moderator

    Posts:
    6,679
    Likes Received:
    72
    State:
    California
    Normally, for 4 days, it won't even be reported to the DMV, though you really do need to be smart and keep the car parked during that time. It may be reported to your lender though, if you owe money on the car.

    I have no idea why you would turn in your license plates for that time, that just seems to add troubles to other troubles. I'm sure the DMV would have no idea why you are doing it.

    Dan
     
    djs, Sep 11, 2018
    #3
  4. Markthebroker
    Offline

    Markthebroker Guru

    Posts:
    702
    Likes Received:
    583
    State:
    California
    djs, Adjusterjack likes to come on this site and make up crazy things, misleading, confusing, and ultimately harming people looking for advice.

    I've brought it up to him multiple times, but that hurt his feelings and he believes he should be able to share his opinions - at the expense of everyone else. Unfortunately I guess we have to put up with him until he is kicked off the site.
     
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2018
  5. adjusterjack
    Offline

    adjusterjack Guru

    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    292
    State:
    Arizona
    Because like most people with money problems, 4 days can turn into 14 days or 40 days and next thing you know you cause an accident without insurance and you wonder why your world comes crashing down on you.
     
  6. adjusterjack
    Offline

    adjusterjack Guru

    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    292
    State:
    Arizona
    Ah, the usual jibber jabber from Markthebroker, a tale told by an idiot, full of the sound and fury, signifying nothing.
     
  7. Markthebroker
    Offline

    Markthebroker Guru

    Posts:
    702
    Likes Received:
    583
    State:
    California
    Adjusterjack, if you want to talk about idiots, I can repost additional nonsense you have spewed on this site.
     
  8. adjusterjack
    Offline

    adjusterjack Guru

    Posts:
    932
    Likes Received:
    292
    State:
    Arizona
    Whatever.
     
  9. fed up
    Offline

    fed up Super Genius

    Posts:
    212
    Likes Received:
    112
    State:
    Virginia
    because owning a vehicle in Michigan without insurance can incur a $500 fine. Turning in the plates removes the vehicle from registration lists. Be happy you don't live in Maryland. $150 for first 30 days, $7 per day afterwards.......unless you turn in the tags. just keeping the tags from your old car can incur the penalty
     
    fed up, Sep 12, 2018
    #9
  10. VolAgent
    Offline

    VolAgent Guru

    Posts:
    14,773
    Likes Received:
    1,481
    State:
    Tennessee
    Please remember, some states are vastly more aggressive about this than others.
     
Loading...