Step Therapy on PDP's, Your Experiences

yorkriver1

Guru
1000 Post Club
Virginia
Some PDP's list certain Tier 3 & 4 drugs as Step Therapy. I am relatively new to writing more volume in PDP's/MAPD's.

I am concerned about suggesting a plan with step therapy, to save, say, $50/100 a year--or even more, and then have them go through a big hassle with step therapy, getting approval to just take the drug they were prescribed if it's working.

Bonus comment: This year it seems there are big differences in the results I am getting for plan comparisons on Medicare.gov, from the company sites, particularly for the Humana plans.
Anyone have suggestions for best practices on plan comparisons? I need a method that is the most accurate/least time consuming.

We rarely suggest a change for less than $150/year and if there is a ST restriction one had best call the new plan for clarification on what is required. If they "think" it may have been satisfied in their medical history, then proceed, I'd be careful making someone change their healthcare regiment over a few dollars in savings with understanding the full implications.

Thanks. Don't want to put them through the wringer.
They most likely need to change the plan they have now, First Health D, to get a more competitive one for this year. 2 of the 3 lowest cost plans for 2014 don't require step therapy.

If I don't spend the time to be an agent for one or the other of the 2, then I'll just send them there. May not be worth it for time/money. One of the competitive ones is Cigna and I am also signing up for their MedSupp.

One more pathway, they may qualify for help with that drug from the drug company. Giving them the info. on drug co. help from Medicare.gov first. Otherwise, their 3 generics are free through Humana mail order.