Career Change

YP1

Hello everyone. Looking for some feedback from fellow professionals. I have an opportunity to join the FDNY (something I wanted to do for a while). As a firefighter I would only work 2-3 days a week.

Currently, I'm a CFP, mostly do investments and refer life insurance to my business partners. I am thinking of focusing on Life Insurance once I start the FDNY job but not sure how realistic that is. Any advice/feedback is appreciated. Thank you.

If it was your dream to be a firefighter, I'd say chase after your dream. Firefighters make good money and have excellent benefits too. Which job will ultimately make you happy?

Hello everyone. Looking for some feedback from fellow professionals. I have an opportunity to join the FDNY (something I wanted to do for a while). As a firefighter I would only work 2-3 days a week.

Currently, I'm a CFP, mostly do investments and refer life insurance to my business partners. I am thinking of focusing on Life Insurance once I start the FDNY job but not sure how realistic that is. Any advice/feedback is appreciated. Thank you.

where will you be stationed? bronx?

The question you are asking is how realistic is it to focus on life insurance instead of referring it out... while you are a CFP, and a fire-fighter 2-3 days per week.

If you're not giving up the investment side of being a financial advisor, it should be quite easy to bring up life insurance planning with your existing clients, instead of referring it out.

You may want to learn about various kinds of permanent life insurance and their uses. Check out the Insurance Pro Shop for some training on how to present life insurance planning concepts to your clients.

As far as having the energy for doing both financial advice and being a fire-fighter... I'll leave that up to you. You know the demands of your current clients and how you've structured your practice.