Changing Career - Opinions?

Norrissa

I am currently an Accountant at the top of my earning potential with the company I work for now. I am making $60k/yr salary and considering a career change into insurance.

I take my Life, Health and Variable Annuities exam with the state this month and am confident I'll pass. Whether or not I pursue this career change, it was good to study these and learn more.

I realize I need experience to determine if the career change is one in which I'll enjoy or even succeed at and that I'll need to be a captive agent until I learn more. I figure I can always fall back to accounting again although not likely at the same wage if starting anew.

My question is regarding the risk of a solid $60k/yr salary in exchange for a commission based wage. Since you're the best at evaluating risk, what do you think?

The majority of agents fail miserably. It's very unlikely that you'll make anywhere near what you're currently making for some time, especially if you don't have a specific marketing plan.

What's prompting the change?

What's prompting the change?

I am 47 years old and at an earning ceiling without my CPA. I enjoy helping others a lot and felt that through my financial background I would be able to make wise suggestions as well as have an earning capacity that isn't capped. My fear is that I'd earn so much less to begin with that I'd be forced back into Accounting and then be unable to match my current wage considering that I've not got my CPA. I'm paid at my current position as if I do have it based on my outperforming those who do and having 10 years tenure. I also spend many 14 hour days at month end in order to close the books and while I'm no stranger to hard work or long days, I'd much rather be in control of it rather than have it a constant for the end of month.