Difference Between An Independent Agent and Broker?

G

Someone asked me what I did for a living the other day and I told them I was an Insurance Agent. Then they asked what company I work for and I told them I'm independent, I have contracts with many companies. He responded, "Oh, so you're a broker." I told him I wasn't a broker, just an independent agent, he asked me what the difference was, and I couldn't answer.

So what is the difference? I sell life, health, LTC, med supps, and final expense. I have more than one company in each line of business and I am not captive. Isn't that what a broker is?

Beats the hell out of me... what code?

The insurance code, insurance law, regulations, etc..

What those people at the state insurance department tell us we can and can't do.

The insurance code, insurance law, regulations, etc..

What those people at the state insurance department tell us we can and can't do.

Call those people and ask, eh?

My card says 'Broker'... hope I didn't overlook a code.

Probably state-specific.

In CA, an agent or producer sells a company's (or multiple companies) product and earns a commission from that sale. Agents or Producers may be captive or independent.

An insurance Broker, at least in CA, is not appointed with any carrier, must post his/her own bond and cannot earn a commission from the sale of any insurance product.

Probably state-specific.

In CA, an agent or producer sells a company's (or multiple companies) product and earns a commission from that sale. Agents or Producers may be captive or independent.

An insurance Broker, at least in CA, is not appointed with any carrier, must post his/her own bond and cannot earn a commission from the sale of any insurance product.

I'm going to try not to sound too idiotic here...

If they aren't earning a commission on the sale of product how are they earning money? Do they charge a fee to the client for the consultation?

I'm sure you're correct, that it is state specific.