Direct Mail isn't for everybody

I did a mailer for the first time in years, and the results were about what I expected. I got about 15 responses, and only got one of those on the phone, and it was a no go. However, I requested the phone numbers where available, and out of the first fifty that I called, I set three serious appts and wrote three life apps, and two of them asked about dsnp plans.

I've come to realize, that if you're not willing to door knock these mailers, calling from a list is better for some people. I actually pick up more sales from the cold calls than some people get off of dm. I was told that this is foolish to think it will work long term, but I've been doing it for eight years, and it still works. I'm not really a final expense agent, but it pays pretty well, even if you just pretend.

I like the thread, but also to be noted, 15 of course is a very small sample size. And you're comparing the results to something you have 8 years of practice and development in mastering, the cold call appointment approach. Unless most new people are DM appointment scheduling machines, I'd imagine that approach takes time to master as well.

I like the thread, but also to be noted, 15 of course is a very small sample size. And you're comparing the results to something you have 8 years of practice and development in mastering, the cold call appointment approach. Unless most new people are DM appointment scheduling machines, I'd imagine that approach takes time to master as well.

Point taken, but I think the door knocking must be essential to getting the most out of the leads, I just haven't been able to make myself do it. Cold calling is much easier for me, I mean the worst thing a person can do is hang up on you, and frankly, of those that answer the phone, that doesn't happen very often, they're usually polite.