What is Far on Splitting Commissions?

KINGBICHO

Super Genius
100+ Post Club
I'm a independent life agent that in some carriers I get from 85-100% commissions on FE carriers with 75% advance. I want to start a program with a couple of P&C agencies that don't do Life/health at all. What is considered fair in a commission split when they let's say give me a lead from their book of business? What should I start with and let's say it develops to a great relationship then what do I increase it to? I believe 50/50 split from advance is too high but correct me if I'm wrong from anyone that is doing this already. I don't want to low ball and same time look like a golden opportunity for the P&C agency to make money as well. Any advice?

It's not that far...really...LOL. Just kidding.

Seriously, I do a lot of joint work, all over the country. I play it simple and straightforward -- it's a 50/50 split. However, I've heard there are two schools of thought. One, you bring the prospect/client to the table and that's it, you are entitled to 50%. Two, just bringing the prospect/client to the table and that's' it, you are NOT entitled to 50%. Sounds simple, right?

I've never had a advisor bring me in on a case and then disappear, do nothing, only make the introduction, etc. So, it's most often 50/50. I do all the technical work, design, client consulting, etc. -- but the advisor who brought me in is still doing work.

A guy in my study group follows the following joint-case model:

The introduction is 20%
Gathering data is 20%
Presenting is 20%
Closing the sale/placing the policy is 20%
Service is 20%

I've never tried it, and I haven't really thought it through, but my knee jerk reaction is that it could work with two advisors who work together.