FE Business Strategy Questions

Rearden

Guru
5000 Post Club
Hi all,

I am considering entering the insurance business and specializing in final expense.

After having read numerous helpful posts on final expense in these forums, I have mostly decided to go with Equita to feed me leads and get me going.

However, before totally pulling the trigger, I am gathering information on the business so as to develop a pro-forma/business plan to help me set reasonable expectations of what I can gain financially from this business, as I have no experience selling insurance.

So -- if you're an agent or run an agency and know your numbers regarding final expense -- here are my questions to you:

1. What is your average closing ratio on in-person consultations? More specifically, what was it when you first started in the business?
2. What do you gross initially per sale? Gross as a percentage concerning residuals?
3. On average, how many years does your client continue to pay final expense before discontinuing (reason doesn't matter)?
4. What is your average chargeback percentage?
5. For those who travel to clients in a rural/suburban area -- what percentage of revenue is your fuel/car expense?
6. Finally, what sets you apart from your competitors, ie, what compelling reason does a prospect have to preferably buy from you than the other guy? Price, expertise, service?
7. For agencies, what percentage do you pay your reps on (a) initial deals, and (b) residuals?

Allow me to apologize in advance for any confusion or misunderstanding I have of the FE business -- I am green to the business and am still learning more about it daily.

Thanks in advance for all your help. Your willingness to help is much appreciated.

Best,
David

these numbers are going to vary greatly depending on the person. they will suck for the newbies and improve with experience.