This Guy Ain't Long for the Telemarketing World

You’re right, I haven’t really been on the forums much today. I’m mainly F2F in the field, and still run a sizable debit agency. Got in kind of late tonight.

I think I said I do a “fair amount” of telesales, which is more than a couple calls here and there, but not any where near “quite a bit”. I’m far from an expert at it. My technique is probably wrong on several points! But I’ll take a nibble on the bait, anyway.

Most of the leads I work by phone these days are home office referrals. (I get several of these each month across a handful of states where I’m licensed) They’ve either mailed back a lead card from a billing insert or called in to get info. These folks fall into 3 main categories:
1) Existing clients (usually orphan policyholders) interested in increasing coverage.
2) Family or friend referrals from existing clients
3) People who are shopping for a quote and call the home office out of the blue, or go to the website and fill out a request for info.

Let’s use #1 as an example. Ms. Betty Jones, an orphan policyholder, filled out the billing insert and mailed it back. Now, since she already has insurance with the company, I absolutely do want to indentify myself immediately as representing that company. So, when somebody answers, the conversation starts something like this:
“Hi, this is Shonce Man from Ajax Life Insurance Company. I was calling for Ms Betty Jones about the policy she has with us. She mailed back the little card that was in her billing notice about reviewing her coverage.”
I say that first bit without any pauses up until this point. This is the first break where I’ll allow them to interrupt. Usually, they say, “that’s me” or “I’ll go get her”
The conversation either proceeds from there, or I set up a better call back time.

I realize that was a fairly lightweight example. Somebody wanting a quote from a company they called out of the blue is going to be tougher.